Ardscoil na Mara
-an Edmund Rice School

Board Of Management

Ardscoil na Mara Board Of Management.

The Board of Management, of a voluntary secondary school, is entrusted with the responsibility of ensuring that the curriculum of the school is in accordance with the religious and educational criteria defined by the Trustees (ERST).

As outlined in the Articles of Management the Board of Management consists of eight persons:

  • Four members nominated by the Trustees of the school. One of their nominations is appointed as chairperson;
  • Two parents representatives - legal guardians of children currently attending the school, elected by parents whose children currently attend the school;
  • Two teacher representatives - elected by all the current pro-rata contracted, non-casual, job-sharing and current full-time teachers on the staff of the school on the date of election.

Following their nomination or election, all eight members of the Board are appointed by the Trustees.

The Principal, as outlined in the Articles of Management, acts as Secretary to the Board (AoM 11(a))

Composition of the Board of Management 2017-2020

Mr. B. Flannery - Chairperson

Mr. P. Cawley - Principal and Secretary to the Board

Mr. T. Dillon - Trustee Nominee

Ms. A. Harpur - Trustee Nominee

Ms. M. O’Dwyer - Parents Nominee

Mr. T. McCahill - Parents Nominee

Ms. L. Kiely - Teacher Nominee

Mr. T. Firtear - Teacher Nominee

The functions of the Board of Management must be performed collectively. In this context, members of the Board do not act in a representative capacity. The proper procedure for bringing an issue before the Board is that the matter should be notified in advance, in writing, to the Secretary of the Board of Management.

Oct 26
Mid term Break
Dec 23
Christmas Holidays
Feb 15
February Midterm Break
Mar 17
St.Patrick's Day: School Closed
Ardscoil na Mara,
Co. Waterford
X91 Y981

051 395 124

© 2020 Ardscoil na Mara